People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

If only


July 26, 2006 - 7:35 p.m.

I guess I owe you some words.

Is it really possible that that many people suck at their jobs, or can't figure out how to run Planet Earth, or set up stupid, inscrutable systems intended to piss off other humans?

In the last 36 hours, I've encountered the following:


  • A car owner who gave me an old copy of his title which was showing a long-cleared lien, but with which I cannot register the car I bought from him, and... he and his wife are in England for another week and a half.
  • A car dealer who ordered some parts for me, received the parts, and within eight hours... lost them. Some twentysomething guy who left early today is apparently the only person who knows where it is. This is a multimillion-dollar dealer group, by the way.
  • A company that sells software for car repair and maintenance tells you you can upgrade your old version of their Windows software (which, like all Windows shit, will not work on newer versions of Windows), but it isn't until you actually enter your identifying information and credit card number that they tell you you have to physically send your old CD-ROM to Massachusetts. Just the thing for people who have to fix something on a like-now basis.

Are there really things this stupid on the Earth?

Of course there are, and they're coming up with new ones -- stupid people and stupid systems -- every day.

I think the murder rate will rise in the next decade, and the victims will be stupid people killed by smart people who are doing other smart people a favor. If only juries were made of smart people, too.


previous - next