People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Horny dreams, diesels and identity


July 12, 2006 - 3:43 p.m.

Argh. My server at home appears to be offline, so I can't post stuff there... when I got home last night there had been a power flicker, which normally doesn't keep the server from running, but somehow the webserver didn't come up. I'm telnetted into it trying to goose it back to life from here, but usually that's not all that successful. We'll see.

I had a series of strange but pleasant dreams last night that left me waking up all horny. One of them involved Heather, which is odd because I haven't seen her in years nor talked to her in months. Others involved various other women, some familiar, some strangers. It was quite odd and I wish I could have stayed asleep longer to figure out what the hell was going on.

I'm already planning on being unfaithful, by the way. No, not to Suzanne, but to the Volkswagen. The exact car I want (a Passat wagon with the diesel engine) is up on eBay at a reasonable price and quite close by me, so I intend to buy it and sell the gas Passat. Its book value is still quite good, so even if I have to sell it cheaper than that (likely) I'll still be happy. If I get the diesel, I'll save sixty dollars on gas. A week!. I spend around $125 a week on gas with the red Passat. Thus, the car would pay for itself in less than two years just on fuel savings. And, it's a five-speed, so I can teach Suzanne how to drive a manual transmission... a skill she strangely lacks.

I've been thinking a lot about the concepts behind "identity" lately. Redoing my whole thought process behind it is beyond the space and patience I have for writing just now, but suffice to say that if you think carefully about it, the concept of "identity" and "identification" is incredibly, incredibly fleeting. Yet we're practically building a whole damn police state based on it. You will, in the future, see crimes rooted more in identity more often than ever, because it will be easier than ever to defraud people who trust "identification" too much.

If you're curious, go pick up a copy of John Brunner's 1975 novel, The Shockwave Rider. You will have to read it at least three times to fully understand it (and to mentally edit out his wrong guesses about what American slang would be like in the 21st Century).

Today is the 46th anniversary of Ohio Art's Etch-A-Sketch. Hard to believe that sucker is still only fifteen bucks. Go party like it's nineteen-fifty-nine.


previous - next