People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Everything breaks


June 21, 2006 - 6:35 p.m.

Things in my offline life are having a good time breaking. All the tractors have some malady or another, which is being addressed by having me throw money at them... the Husky is going in tomorrow to address some mystery fuel starvation problem, and the yellow International is getting a brand new carburetor (a new Zenith to replace the ancient Marvel-Schebler it came from the factory with in 1960) later this week.

And stupidest of all, the Volkswagen is displaying bogus oil warnings, claiming the oil pressure is too high. I even took it in for an oil change and a factory VW filter, and half a block later, the sensor went off again. Since it generated a Check Engine light, this also guarantees that it will fail its emissions inspection this week (which I have to get done) since apparently regardless of what pollutants are actually coming out the pipe, a Check Engine light will cause the system to fail it. One shitty computer system telling lies to another shitty computer system, which is bound by law to believe them.

Fark this. I am gonna start driving my 1971 International again or something.

I've been cleaning the house for Suzanne's visit this weekend, but I am fairly sure I won't get everything done in time. At least I could look forward to getting the newly-cleaned rugs back from the rug place, assuming they don't get delayed. The bare floors are nice and shiny, though. I cleaned the stairs and the upstairs hall, so they're shiny, too. For now. The bedroom and bathroom are next, and I should put the air conditioner back in the bedroom window so I don't melt or sweat myself into dehydration.

I should have hired somebody to come in and clean. Oh, well.

She and I talked for a long time last night. Serious stuff. Fun stuff. Stuff about the past. Stuff about the future. Stuff about figuring out whether we should live with each other, and when and how.

The cats are busy lounging around the house all day and emitting clouds of cat hair. Fortunately, I have extra vacuum-cleaner bags and patience. I really do need to clean the floors upstairs with the FloorMate. Now, watch its unreliable ass break down!


previous - next