People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

My weekend


June 12, 2006 - 2:08 p.m.

If some amazing thing happens twice, the odds that it'll happen a third time increase dramatically. Suzanne and I had another amazing weekend together, doing all sorts of different things around where she lives in New Jersey.

It was a bit strange getting to her house on Friday after work, because she actually wasn't home and wasn't going to be home until Saturday morning when she got back from work (she has a job where she's sometimes on call at a hospital), so when I got there, her rabbits came out to see me. I gave them carrots and some mint I'd brought from home, which they seemed to enjoy a great deal. They all now have minty-fresh breath, which is probably better than their usual mulch-like breath.

I went to sleep after fooling with her HDTV set... I'd brought my HDTV tuner and had picked up an antenna along the way, and while it produced some images, the results were disappointing considering how close she is to both New York and Philadelphia transmitters. I figured that she needed an amplified antenna, but it was too late to go find one.

She woke me up in the morning, coming back from work, and even though she was tired and I'd just been awakened, we have a nice (if loud) session of fooling around. She is for all practical purposes inexhaustible, which someday will be quite nice when I feel like I can completely keep up with her.

Saturday we went walking around in the area where Washington crossed the Delaware for Christmas, 1776. It's surprising that there's any sign at all of the old colonial road, but it's clearly there, a path through the trees. There are endless commemorative trees around the area, planted generally in 1932 for the Washington Bicentennial, and most by organizations that are either now long gone or of which I haven't heard. We talked to lots of geese and looked at a lot of plants, and found a place we might go to dinner sometime nearby.

Saturday night was Foofy Dinner Night, and Suzanne had made reservations at a restaurant in Princeton called Mediterra, which had a lot of foods from the countries surrounding the Mediterranean Sea. We had an almost-completely-incomprehensible but very dramatic waiter named Pedro. We're still not sure what some of the stuff we had in the tapas special might have been. We both commented on the hostess, who was a very young but very stately woman, who could not have been older than 20 nor shorter than 5'11", and who was then in heels. She just had a poised grace to her that is almost completely lacking in young-woman hostesses, most of whom are chewing gum and in rhinestone flip-flops and midriff shirts these days.

Dinner overall was excellent, though right at the end, Suzanne bit into a mystery item in her dinner vegetables that turned out to be an entire clove of garlic.

I can't tell you what a character-building experience sex was when we got home. Yes, she brushed her teeth, but still, heavy breathing is a lot less appealing when it smells like caesar salad! We made it through no matter. I figure it's a story we can bore people with for years.

There are a lot of things like that.

We woke up very early on Sunday and she molested me, though later on she said she couldn't actually remember it. I remember, of course, since I'm the one writing about it, but as I pointed out to her, it was her idea. Most of the time, at 5:30am, I am asleep.

Sunday we went out on the bikes, down the Delaware & Raritan Canal Trail. It's a nice, cool trail that's almost entirely flat and goes for many miles, though we only went ten miles (five out, five back) before deciding it was getting late in the day and it might be worth going home. There were few people out on the trail and we basically had an hour to talk about a lot of things. And, of course, talk to geese, who were around at various locations. I somehow brushed up against a blackberry vine at speed and when we got back to the Volkswagen I had a small row of little blood drops on my left arm. Remind me to wear long-sleeved shirts in the future.

Dinner Sunday night was also good... seafood at a place near where she lives, though the seared tuna steak was far, far too large for any reasonable woman to consume, so we packed that up for use as cat treats. We talked a great deal at dinner, slowly figuring out how we might fit our lives together at some point. She said that she does intend to get married, which I'm not averse to (though I'd really appreciate it if they'd unscrew the tax laws that make being a married professional couple without children a royal hose job). After we got home, she felt the need to molest me a third time in less than a day, so she did. Her house, her rules.

I also showed her some pictures and videos I'd done over the years, just so she'd have some idea of what she's getting into. She thought both of them were good, which either means they are, or she's deluded.

This whole spend-the-weekend-together thing is an oddly effortless habit. I like it a lot. The next time, though, will be here in Maryland, which means I need to do some work on my house so she isn't appalled too badly.

I have a lot of energy. And two weeks to accomplish everything.


previous - next