People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

In motion


June 02, 2006 - 4:10 p.m.

I get to see Suzanne in... well, basically in however much time it takes me to drive there. Yahoo Maps, in its infinite optimism, says it's 155 miles from where I work to where she lives. On a normal day, that's two hours for me. However, since it's Friday and people around here lose their minds on Fridays and screw up traffic up on the north side of the Baltimore Beltway, I'm budgeting three and a half hours. She emailed me this morning and said she was in a great pink-and-black suit today, and wouldn't be changing after she got home from work. I am delighted. This is truly a girl who knows what I appreciate.

I just realized there's another casualty of the disappeared laptop bag from a week or so ago: there was a 100Gb drive in a Firewire enclosure in that case, and on that drive were basically the brains of my old iBook 933. True, everything was then duplicated on the iBook 1.42 that I cart around now, but the loss of that drive means there's basically no real reason for me to try to resurrect the old 933. Its original 40Gb brains might be around somewhere, but I guess the time has passed. I'll probably just keep it for parts... the keyboard, the screen, the Airport card, stuff like that. Or sell them piecemeal. I'm a little disappointed, because that was a good drive and the Firewire enclosure was great. Came with its own little case and everything.

It rained again last night, but my spring still refuses to restart. I had hoped I'd be able to take some spring water up to Suzanne's, but I guess that will have to wait.

I'm off to see the wizard. Sort of. I'll keep you posted.


previous - next