People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Late-night impulses driven by bad wine


April 14, 2006 - 3:44 p.m.

No, no, no, not MY impulses...

It appears that the newest thing to do is to annoy people you don't want to date by sending their email address to various spam sites. Lately I've seen a flurry of spam on an address I use solely for friends and for dating, and tracked it down so that I am 99% sure I know who did it. I am horribly glad I didn't meet this woman, because not only does she have three children living with her, but she was stupid enough to do this little act of misrepresentation from her work computer.

A federal government office work computer.

In Maryland, doing this sort of crap can be a felony.

I hope she doesn't like her job very much, because she might not be in it very long once I make a couple of calls to her network security officer.

Advice to you kids watching out there: do not piss off experienced network engineers, for we can make your life hell for much longer than it'll take those two late-night glasses of chardonnay to wear off. Think before you click!

In other dating news, I met the woman from Arlington last night, the one I'd originally met during speed-dating on Monday. She's just as attractive as I'd remembered, though a little dowdy. She actually could be the twin of a woman I've known from Lotusphere for several years, right down to the velour pantsuit.

Not sure that anything will happen here, though... she doesn't like sushi, doesn't like cats much, and (though I'd thought she was divorced) has never been married and is my age. Still, she was fun to talk to and I could see being friends with her if that's all she wants.

Additional note to you women who might do the internet-dating thing: if you arrange to meet a guy in a public place where there are likely going to be many attractive, well-dressed women around, you should probably try to be on time. After all, every minute you make him wait is a minute he gets to scope out women who may actually be more attractive than you.


previous - next