People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Join me for a shower


April 11, 2006 - 1:18 p.m.

I think it might be time for me to find a waterproof laptop and mount it in the shower, because I always have these amazing, fully-formed ideas of what to write when I'm cleaning my armpits, and by the time I get dry and get dressed, I forget all the things I was going to write. I end up writing about women, and plants, and cats, and work, and gadgets.

The stuff in my shower is usually a lot better and a lot more profound.

But then again, you don't want "profound," you just want to read about the sex.

I find myself looking forward to getting the list of possible contacts from last night. I went over my list of people I wanted to meet, and found that pretty much any of them would appeal to me, all in different ways. That's the thing I think that might make me different than a lot of guys: they might look at a room of women and say, "I'm looking for... X." If they see it, they latch onto it. These are the guys who, when I'm out at the bar or something, will gawk no end at some busty blonde with a vacant, zombie-like look to her eyes, and be completely uninterested or even derisive about a dark-eyed, interesting-looking willowy tall brunette. I think my tastes are completely bass-ackward from "most guys," yet somehow I still am not meeting people.

Let me think about this: of the women I've been with since my marriage, I'd say that the majority of them wouldn't fall into the "conventionally beautiful" category. All of them were attractive to me, and yet all in quite different ways. Melody had a wide range of looks, from scholarly-serious to impish. Penny was cute and knew how to make herself look great. Sarah was probably the most conventionally "beautiful" but was a very conservative dresser. Belinda was a little pear-shaped but still very attractive. Mary was very appealing but far from a conventional ideal. Marie was tall enough to intimidate most guys, probably, but she was gorgeous. I still don't think any of them would have been centerfold material or anything like that, but I found them all attractive in subtly different ways.

So, too, then, with this group of women last night. I could see where each of them probably could be rejected by your typical blonde-blue-busty idealist, and while not all of them necessarily were highly appealing to me, I could also find something attractive about each of them, at least physically.

Do I have no discretion, and by extension, no real taste? I've never been physically picky... while I have some preferences, some of them strong -- dark hair over blonde, brown eyes over blue or gray, taller and thinner over small and round, smaller chests rather than huge hooters -- I can also name you recent and strong exceptions to all my "rules."

I wonder.

In other news, the new iBook is back in shape and ready to DJ tonight after trivia. I would love to be able to set up a date with someone for tomorrow night (someone I thought I had a tentative date with sent me a best-of-luck email a while ago), I'll live.


previous - next