People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Hello, it's me...


April 11, 2006 - 2:09 a.m.

OK, I will now recant any doubts I had about this speed-dating thing. I was just in the wrong place.

Tonight was amazing. Not a single frosted hair, not a single sequin, not a single neck-roll in the place. Instead, there were at least half a dozen women I could easily see being interested in seeing again.

Let's see... a couple of really friendly and warm women from Alexandria who lived a few blocks from each other and who had convinced each other to try it out. A brown-eyed woman from Atlanta who was just classically gorgeous and smart. A funny, dark-haired woman from Arlington with truly astonishing calves.

Hell, even the women I wasn't all that keen on, I could see their appeal. Only one true clinker in the group, and that was the last one I talked to. She told me damn near nothing about herself and instead interrogated me about where (exactly) I lived and about the cats and my job. Cute face, but a crappy personality, I guess.

So, I take it all back. I had a great time, and will be delighted if I hear back from some of these women. I may in fact have found the missing island of attractive, smart single women my general age.

The new iBook is all happy and sweet. I took the old one back and exchanged it, they reset the warranty to start today instead of last week, and it's already well on its way to feeling comfortable. I got a sense this week of how long it takes me to have an Apple laptop get to that comfort point (and to a current state of patches and security fixes) and compared it to the time it takes to get a Windows laptop even minimally usable. There is practically no comparison. Macs feel good even straight out of the box, and merely get better the more familiar stuff I put on them. Windows laptops no longer feel familiar at all.

I like that.

One of the women tonight -- a tall, tanned woman with a form-fitting dress showing off delicious cleavage -- asked me what my goal was in doing the speed-dating thing.

"You know how you can call someone you're close to, and leave a message, and just start off with, 'it's me'?"

She nodded.

"That's what I want."

In quite a few areas of my life, really.


previous - next