People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

The night's adventures


April 10, 2006 - 5:12 p.m.

Here it is, Monday, and with it, numerous small adventures.

First, the new iBook has to go back. It has a bad FireWire port, and without it, the thing is about 50% useless to me, since I use that port to connect videocams and to connect several external drives. And, of course, the iPod. Sure, sure, I know I can connect it via the USB cable (I bought a 4th-generation Pod, back when they came with nice things like the cradle and all the cables and stuff), but I don't like USB.

And, the keyboard is a little flaky, dropping double characters randomly through my typing when I type fast, but I type really fast practically all the time.

It's all out in the car, backing itself up to a new 250-gig external drive, so that this evening I can take the iBook back and get another just like it (presumably they have more).

The next adventure after that is another round of speed-dating, though since this one is in Bethesda, I'm hoping it'll be more upscale, with actual professional women rather than "professional" clerks and gas-company dispatchers and stay-at-home mothers with frosted hair and horrendous makeup. It's a little later start than the last one, starting at 8:30 instead of 7:30, and it's in an area I know and like, though this particular location (Tel Aviv Cafe) is unfamiliar. I'm a little concerned about two things, though:


  1. Does the name mean it's primarily Jewish women who are going to show up? Not that that's automatically bad, but my experience with Jewish women around here has not been positive, and two have been outright fiascos.
  2. The club's official hours are only until 9 tonight, but the event starts at 8:30 and they usually run about 90 minutes. I think the organizers may have screwed up again. Then again, if we have the place to ourselves, my opportunity to scope out non-speed-daters after the event is zero. At least at that place.

As always, you'll get the details when I get home. If I can find a hotspot, maybe even before I get home. I do have to stay up later and reinstall some software... I am DJing -- with or without this iBook -- tomorrow night after trivia. The guy who runs it says he's fed up with dealing with people after trivia, so he's handing off music duties to me. This should be amusing.


previous - next