People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Saying it a lot lately


April 08, 2006 - 2:21 a.m.

I have been quoting Mr. T way too much lately. Between a few weeks ago finding out that Nancy had remarried, and some more recent news, I feel almost silly saying, "I pity da foo'" again, but here it is.

Remember Miranda, the DC attorney who suckered me into wasting New Year's Eve on a platonic, kiss-your-sister date? I sent a short email to her the other day saying hi, and saying, hey, if you want to talk, just send me a note.

I got this back:

Hi -- What a surprise to hear from you. I hope you are well and enjoying the Spring. I don't really think we have anything to talk about. I am getting married on April 22, so am looking forward and not back these days.

Miranda

OK... this was the same woman who is probably in therapy for life, the same woman who said in January she was probably never going to share her life with anyone again, and the woman who pronounced the curse on me last fall, saying I "shouldn't be with someone until I was comfortable being alone."

Do the math. She's getting married two weeks from today.

Rush much?

I pity da foo'.

In case it wasn't obvious, this is also the woman who inspired my "I can't be around cynics any more" post a few months back. She has a heart of ice.

I pity da foo'.

I do admit she had an OK body, though her calves were fairly plain even in the heels she wore on New Year's. But there are OK bodies all over the place. OK minds seem to be at a serious premium in DC.

I pity da foo'.

In happier news, I talked for a long time last night with a woman I've known for almost 20 years now, I woman I loved very much once -- the summer before I met Nancy -- and who has been very sick for much of the last 20 years. She is better now, and I am so happy for her I can't even describe it. She was so beautiful and talented that summer of 1988 when I met her in Buffalo, and her mind is still amazing, but her spirit is gentler now. She lost her mother and father since the last time I talked to her, and she's had hard times, but I went to sleep last night saying to myself, "I am so glad she's OK, she's a wonderful person."

She doesn't have a computer at home, so she'll never see this, but if she ever does, Carrie Lynn, you are a dear and I wish all the best for you.


previous - next