People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Not a canary


March 23, 2006 - 2:47 p.m.

The amusement continues into this morning. I got my little "interest summary" from the people who set up the speed-dating thing last night. Turns out that two of the nine women actually checked my name off as somebody they wanted to get to know -- the wildly-overweight gas-company dispatcher and the hard-to-talk-to woman who I thought might be a little retarded.

Hooray beer!

I am a little disappointed in the woman from Tuesday night. Turns out that she's not really over some failed relationship from last year, and is sort of retreating from dating entirely. Why do these women put profiles up on dating sites? Worse, why do they write to, intrigue, and then meet guys who are actually serious about meeting someone?

Attention women of Baltimore and DC: even if your life is an emotional coal mine, I am not your damn canary.

Or, as Garrison Keillor would say, "if you didn't want to go to Minneapolis, why did you get on the bus?"


previous - next