People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Move on


March 12, 2006 - 3:46 p.m.

I am trying to figure out when the pendulum shifted in this country as far as technology is concerned. We used to tend to distrust it until it proved reliable, but lately it seems that people trust it without real reason.

Sarah ended the speculation of whether it was worth getting back together by flaming me on the phone this morning. One of the things she yelled at me was that she had sent me text messages "two different times" telling me she was upset about a joking comment I'd made on the phone the other night. I never got either of them.

I did send her a short email explaining to her that phone text messaging is not a guaranteed-delivery method. I'm not sure how many people know this, but in general, if your phone is off, or you're out of range, the system will not hold text messages for later delivery, particularly if the destination is on another network. She has Verizon; I have T-Mobile. So, I never got either message, and she got upset that I was "ignoring her feelings."

I apologized, hung up, and then methodically removed every address and phone number I had for her, from every device on which I could find one. I know it'll never be a good idea to talk to her again, because while for her, this reminds her of my lack of consideration and a bunch of other things, this reminds me of all the things that I disliked about her: a lack of understanding of how anything works, a habit of keeping score of minor slights and poorly-chosen words, and a condescension that crept in sometimes.

So, she's vanished into the world, and I won't be talking with her -- or, if I can stick to it, about her -- again.

What's interesting is that on my other site, I put up a poll some time ago asking whether getting back with a used-to-be was a good idea. "Move on" was the number one choice.

So, I guess I am.

Not that I have a destination.

Tomorrow is Melody's 48th birthday. I'm not going back there, either.


previous - next