People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Not my fault


March 11, 2006 - 4:10 a.m.

I've spent many, many years watching the interactions between other people. I see what happens between men and women in public places; I see when people care about each other and when they don't. You might recall an entry I did some months ago where I was out after work one night and a gorgeous, elegant young woman was basically being ignored by her boyfriend. Well, tonight it happened again.

Different couple.

Different action on my part.

Tonight, there was a couple in, married. Early 30s, he was detached, checking his messaging and his cell phone, she looking around trying to get interested in anything, anything but him.

I did the unthinkable.

I slipped her a note, saying "you look like you're looking for fun."

I included my phone number.

She took it.

Read it.

Looked at me, and nodded.

I moved away from her, and we made eye contact the rest of the evening. When it became clear that she and her husband were getting ready to leave, I wrote her another.

"If you chicken out tomorrow morning, I will understand. It's OK."

She took it. Read it. And nodded.

They left.

I am horrible.

Horrible in my loneliness.

It's not my damn fault he's ignoring a gorgeous woman in favor of his text messages.


previous - next