People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Past it now


January 27, 2006 - 10:00 p.m.

See, I told you I'd be back! I admit, though, that since this is being written from the table of a truckstop restaurant in Quinby, South Carolina, as I wait for the young lady to bring more unsweetened iced tea (this is the South, and "sweet tea" has nothing to do with tea -- it's corn syrup with some ice and caramel coloring in it), this will be a short one.

I am going to shift my online reading around a little. I've decided I'm going to focus on reading the writing of people who are interested in inviting the world into their lives, rather than figuring out how to blow people away. This sort of harks back to that entry I did a while back about cynics, and what it means in practical terms is that I'm just plain tired of reading the writings of people who presume everybody else sucks and are there only to be ridiculed or discarded. While I have my days, and we can all cite examples of people who probably ought to be ridiculed, I just don't feel like reading the writing of those people any more.

I documented my encounter with one, and there's another out there who just leaves me sour every time I read her writing. It's interesting, because I thought about it, and realize I have absolutely no interest in trying to show them that the world is actually a pretty interesting and cool place, and while there are thorns in it, there are relatively few, and if you cut down all the plants in your yard for their sake, you will have a bare landscape (and a bare life) indeed.

So, fine, writer-to-be-removed-from-my-favorites. If it's a life alone you want, fine, you shall have it. I've been in a relationship with a woman like that, maybe a couple, and yes, they probably should be alone, too. Cynicism is an immature and inward-directed worldview, and I'm just beyond it. I don't even want to read about it for intellectual curiosity's sake.

The conference was tremendous. I am not in my usual post-conference distress, because I'm energized and I want to go do stuff.

Though right now, I'm still waiting for my iced tea.

I'll write more when I get to the hotel in about an hour.


previous - next