People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Cats and hair - adoption help needed!


January 13, 2006 - 3:49 p.m.

All day yesterday and today, I've felt like I've had a hair stuck in the back of my throat. A long hair, like back when I was with Melody and I would sometimes inhale her hair as we slept. There's nothing weirder than blowing your nose in the morning and pulling a dark, foot-long hair out of your nostril.

I can't identify a source for this one, though, and despite all the swallowing, coughing and throat-clearing I can do, this one is firmly stuck where it is.

The weather the last couple of days has been absurdly warm... yesterday, it was 60, and today it's nearly that, though foggy. I shut down the furnace and threw all the doors and windows open, to get that midwinter haze out of my house. The cats are beside themselves; Bert managed to knock over a lemon tree on the windowsill, he was so eager to sniff the great outdoors. Then again, Bert is pretty stupid, and falls off a lot of things. This morning, I though he was going to shove the food dish off onto the floor, because he was practically standing in it.

Speaking of cats: after a friend of hers evicted a Tenant From Hell on a farm in western Pennsylvania, a friend of mine has temporary foster care of approximately 21 cats. Terri, the dear that she is, is getting all their vaccinations and checkups done ("I don't need a vacation this year anyway," she emailed me) but she would like any assistance she can get to find these cats homes. She has space for a few, but she'd like assistance in finding homes for as many as she can. If you're in the Pittsburgh or Cleveland area and can either provide a home or know someone who can, please email me directly, OK? Don't leave me a note with your email, you'll probably get spammed or something (not by me).

And yes, she asked if I'd take some. I declined... I've done everything I can for cats for one lifetime and I am trying to ease my own population of cats downward, if only to reduce my consumption of vacuum-cleaner bags. I've gotta go get some more, as a matter of fact... the crate of them that Nancy bought before she moved is almost gone, and I'm trying to conserve by pulling the cat-hair out of the bags and reusing them until they fill up with actual dirt, rather than just hair.

In the spring, I have promised myself a bagless vacuum. I have small aspirations these days... except when it comes to aspirating hairs.


previous - next