People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Margaret returns to domestic life


December 27, 2005 - 1:44 p.m.

Margaret has decided she remembers who I am and seems more willing to give up her Fierce Outdoor Wildcat act. This morning I spent a long time talking to her and rubbing her head, and when I sort of cupped her in my hands and massaged her all over the way I did when they were kittens (nearly six years ago) she remembered that she was Podular Indoor Slug-O-Cat and started purring and rubbing against my hands and stuff. The change was quite dramatic, actually. After I got out of the shower, I checked on her (in the closet) again and after a little chin-rubbing, she lit up purring again.

I am not going to immediately let her back out into the house until she starts making more overt approaches to me. Because the house is on the large side and there are lots of other cats competing for attention, it would be easy for her to slip back into reticent mode if she was back out in the population. I want her to be friendlier than when she went outside, and I want her to associate me with positive things like food and purring.

The trap was counterproductive (but necessary) in this regard.

Both rear tires on the Volkswagen need to be balanced. That'll have to wait until I get paid... other things are taking a higher priority just now. If the one tire hadn't failed last week I'd be happier to balance all the existing tires. The vibration from the rear tires is most unseemly on an otherwise-smooth car.

OK, off to the credit union to do some business.


previous - next