People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Not for first dates!


November 10, 2005 - 1:32 p.m.

For the last time, people, movies suck as first dates!

Not that I actually did this, even though I was on a first date last night. No, I learned that lesson years and years ago. When you first meet someone, why the hell would you want to sit in a dark room with that person for two hours, not talking?

No, I didn't do this last night, but I did talk to a woman whose ad I'd responded to. Aside of the fact that I didn't like her voice or her style of speaking -- that sort of drone-on-and-on-about-herself style that I usually associate with slightly-retarded cashiers or bored New Jersey working-class women -- she just couldn't fathom why I had no interest in "seeing a movie" on a first date, and told her so and explained why. Sure enough, this morning I get the old "we're too different, best of luck" email, and for once, I was glad to get it. One less evening to suffer through with someone I know I won't see again, or want to.

Oh, and she's a member of my "favorite" class of people: mid-40s women who've never been married. Yeah.

Speed dating has a certain appeal to it. Why waste an entire evening on one date, when you can waste it on six or eight?

Actually, a friend at work met the guy she's been with for a year and a half at a speed-dating event, and she's at least as picky as I am, so maybe it's worth a try. I talk fast.

The first date last night was with a quirky but really appealing woman we'll call Leigh. She does software support around DC, and while she lives in heavily urban area, does own a car and has a cat (and a dog). It was one of those dates that didn't seem to want to end, but had to, because we both had to work today. I managed to keep my concern about the fact that she's 37 and never married under control. After all, my worry mark is set around my own age, and Leigh has several years to go before then. She also admitted she had no particular pull toward being married, and gave good reasons for it. The ones I really worry about are the ones who claim they've always wanted to be married but "somehow it never happened."

I have two new women to meet this weekend, and a second date with Amanda. That likely will be a movie or something. Of the two new ones, one is with an older divorced woman whose daughter is in her 20s, the other with an attorney from around DC who's 39 (I think -- I'll have to check) and who has a really, really cute voice. If she ever gives up lawyerin', I hope she goes into business rerecording the voices on every voicemail system in the world.


previous - next