People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Tires, trees, and dog shit


October 28, 2005 - 5:47 p.m.

Holy crap! Two new Pork Tornado posts in two days, after nothing in weeks!

You must go read him. You must laugh so hard after doing so that you puke into your keyboard and partly onto your pants. Or skirt. Or bare crotch. Or whatever.

A sample:

"The Skirt bought flip flops with a frigging integrated bottle opener in the sole. I couldn’t find a way to fit that into the story, but I had to mention it. They are awesome until you step in dog shit."

Speaking of which, I'm likely going to be doing work around the house this weekend. For one, I have to take my stuff out of the dead Saab... Allstate is coming Monday to haul it away and replace it with a check. I've been looking around online and been seriously considering buying a used Volkswagen with the TDI (turbo diesel) engine. Problem is, finding one. The dealers have jacked the price on even four- or five-year-old TDI-equipped Beetles, Jettas and Golfs to nearly-new levels. Shit, if I'm going to pay $20,000, I might as well just get a new one. With a warranty.

I am not sure yet whether my belated attention to the Saab-o-matic's tire pressure is helping its gas mileage enough. I took it from 24psi (which all the tires were) to 40psi... a little high but at the maximum rating for the tires. I was sorrowful this morning when I looked at the tires on the dead Saab. I hate sending $400 worth of only-two-years-old tires to scrap with so much tread on them... they're really good tires and I like them.

I avoided frost damage to the citrus plants last night, but am not going to chance it tonight. There's another frost advisory for tonight, so I guess it's time to bring the plants in and try to figure out how to keep Bert from digging in them and keep the Whale from whizzing in them and killing them. The windowsill in the bathroom and my bedroom can only handle about four of the plants... there are a total of six or seven I need to bring in.

I had a nice date last night, by the way. Nobody's guess as to whether I'll ever see her again, but it was a very nice date at a place I always meant to try with Melody, but never did.

Oh, and a film recommendation: Good Night And Good Luck. If you don't remember Ed Murrow, this will make it seem like you do.


previous - next