People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

I bet Earthlink doesn't have these problems


October 03, 2005 - 4:08 p.m.

I have technical problems on my website that normal websites just don't have sometimes. I woke up today to discover that the connection to the outside world was dead. After much running around, I eventually discovered the cause: some cat had stepped on one of the power strips, turning off the only device attached to it... the cable modem. Somehow I don't think Earthlink has these problems.

Tucker is back inside after his adventure outdoors over the weekend. He sneaked out through a broken screen, and spent the weekend out on the porch, complaining to me about how hungry he was, but declining to come in. I eventually lured him in with catnip and snacks, and all the cats are once again lounging around on the windowsills.

I finally got the September 30 podcast out there, so feel free to go listen. I'm still working out the differences between Audacity and Apple Logic Express. It's a long process.

I had a nice brunch date with Elizabeth yesterday. I'm having a hard time figuring her out... she seems to really like the company and likes having someone to talk to, but doesn't seem to know what she wants to do beyond that. Sure, I'd appreciate her as a friend, but I think I'd appreciate her a lot more as... a lot more.

I am less and less sure I can be with a woman with children at home. My life just... doesn't... work... like... that. So, I'm not sure Lissa would be anything more than "a date," though as usual, I'm willing to be convinced of almost anything.

Speaking of "children at home," while I'm of course leery of anyone Boosh nominates to the Supreme Court, I think it's an interesting step that he has nominated a never-married, childfree woman for the first time in history. Just on that basis, Harriet Miers has a certain appeal. In other judicial news, the new Chief Justice, John Roberts, has a pretty damn cute wife. I saw the pictures on the Washington Post site... she has pretty cute calves.

Some of you might recall my "vote for Edwards for Vice President, his daughter Cate is hot" comments in 2004. So goes my interest in national politics.

I finally fixed the dash lights on the good Saab this morning. After getting a warning for 76mph (actually, sort of slow for me) I figured it might be a good idea to be able to see the gauges at night without having to turn on the interior lights. Turns out there was just a weak connection behind the dash, and a whack fixed it, at least for a while. I can forgive little things like this every 271,000 miles.


previous - next