People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

This old cracker's land


September 13, 2005 - 2:20 p.m.

Like everybody else, I've gone back and listened to Randy Newman's 1974 recording, "Louisiana 1927." I heard him play that on NBC's Saturday Night back around 1976 and hadn't heard it again until a couple of weeks ago, connected obviously and presciently enough with Hurricane Katrina. He got almost everything right, all you have to do is replace "Coolidge" with "Bush."

A friend of mine sent me an email this morning in which she said, "I've got a few things chewing on the wrong side of my sense of right and wrong this morning." I told her that I get that feeling every time I hear Bush's voice. I have to turn down the stereo in the Saab when NPR plays soundbites from him.

The physiological aspects of depression are nailing me hard these last few days... I'm exhausted all the time again, sort of like how I was when I had that low-grade systemic infection, and I feel a little dizzy sometimes. I just want to lie around and relax every part of me, not think about anything. This is rather distracting, because things at work are starting to pick up again and I am having a hard time keeping track of them for the first time in my life. I don't like that feeling all that much... makes me feel like I've been on vacation for months or something. In a sense, part of me has been.

For better or worse, I'm talking to a few new people I met online, one of whom only lives a short distance from Melody. I'm a little apprehensive that Melody will see the Saab in her area and get all freaked out or something. Normally, I'd just not go anywhere near there, out of consideration, but since Melody lives in an area populated by a higher-than-normal number of interesting, smart, cute single women, I'm sort of stuck. So, Melody, if you're reading this, if you see the Saab out and about, it's not about you, OK? Though if I saw your car up by me, I'd have a hard time believing the same, since I doubt you're likely to suddenly develop a taste for scruffy old white guys with Caterpillar hats and bib overalls. If you ever do, you know where to find them.


previous - next