People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Strange realization about my DL readership


September 06, 2005 - 3:11 p.m.

Holy shit, I just looked at the list of people who have me set as a favorite.

Where did all you people come from???

I mean, there must be six or seven dozen of you. It's absurd. I am not that entertaining, folks!! Isn't there anything good on cable tonight?

For comparison purposes, I think I might have six or seven set as favorites. Maybe eight. I used to have one more, till I realized she had probably abandoned updating her page, so I cut her loose, even though she was pretty cute. And I used to have Melody's page listed, but she's passworded it, and I'd taken it off the list long ago anyway.

It looks like most of my "favorites" readers are women. At least, I'm assuming that "cuntgirl" is a woman. It's be pretty weird if she wasn't, sort of like you'd assume "cockboy" would be a guy.

Actually, Melody's passwording of her page feels vaguely unfair, since I know she still reads this from time to time (though I am completely puzzled as to why... it's not like I have any missing clues to the search for the Ark or anything like that), and I cannot reciprocate. I long ago figured out that the attraction of places like DL is the prospect of an anonymous audience of indetermine size, something that sort of leaps out at you when you finally actually check your profile-favorites list.

As a symbol of my wholesale conversion to the Apple world, I handed in my old Dell laptop to the network people at work today. It had been sitting unused for months, with a cracked screen (the result of an accidental drop at exactly the right angle) and a non-bootable hard drive (the result of Microshit software being installed on it), and finally I just said the hell with it and gave it back. I'll likely never use another Windows laptop, even for work, since I'm slated to be Blackberried this next fiscal year. Typical of most organizations, the executives who never read their email get such gadgets first, and the people who actually could put them to some useful use (like me) have to wait until someone scrounges money.

Shit for what they won't be spending on getting me a new laptop-I'll-barely-use-because-it's-Windows, they could buy me Blackberry service for years. The only problem: I am uncertain if the thing will actually get a signal at my house. I called them (the people in our organization who hand out the Blackberries) and asked if they had one I could borrow so I could take it home and see if it speaks.

"Uhhh... no."

They claimed "it's nationwide coverage," but I learned long ago that "nationwide" doesn't mean my house. I am sort of an independent radio-electronic duchy due to the mountain across the street and the whiner suburbanites who refuse to accept a cell tower being built on said mountain. Sure, they want cell coverage and act like it's their birthright, but they don't want to look at a tower.

Please refer to the large, block letters at the top of this page.


previous - next