People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Reconsidering Corelle


August 29, 2005 - 9:38 p.m.

I was actually not very surprised that my ex-wife appears nowhere in the memories I pulled up for last night's post. Some relationships come apart in ways that destroy almost everything good that came before. Ever drop a Corelle plate, those "unbreakable" ones from Corning? Sure, they're hard to break, but if you succeed, it blows into a million little tiny sharp pieces which you will be sweeping up for weeks and possibly picking out of your heel. There's so much tension in them -- the factor that gives them their tempering -- that if you manage to break their structure they just explode.

Yeah.

Today was a fine day as well. I don't think I've ever felt as out-of-sorts. I was up hurricane-watching until very, very late, and then had to do some stuff today (including pick up a replacement Saab rim -- I bent one). I ended up staying at work until nearly 9:00pm, trying, among other things, to figure out why IM no longer works from the office. The place is run by the biggest bunch of retarded chickenshit Huns I've ever known. Don't understand something? Ban it! This happens to end up including every new technoogy that makes my life there tolerable, including IM, wireless networking, Bluetooth, virtual meeting software, and peer-to-peer file sharing.

If I gave more of a shit about work, I'd quit and go somewhere not run by fucking asshole know-nothings. As it is, as long as they pay me and I can (mostly) do the things I like, it's not worth the upheaval.

I figured out the other day that but for the cats, if I sold my house for half a million dollars, I could live on the profit for somewhere around 25 years. That would take me well into my 60s, beyond the average age at which men in my father's family have passed on.

Now, isn't that an interesting thing to consider on a Monday!

Last night I had an idea of putting out a short, special-edition podcast. It would have included only two songs: Larry Davis' "Texas Flood" and "Walking On Sunshine" by Katrina and the Waves.

I thought better of it.


previous - next