People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Moving along


August 17, 2005 - 12:03 a.m.

My ear is starting to bother me, although it's quite different than the spectacularly-painful episode back in March when it exploded... this is more subtle discomfort, as if there's pressure in it when I do simple things like climb stairs. I'll live.

Speaking of which, the new podcast is up. #8 is devoted to music and misery, though it was conceived and started before Fawn's visit. My entire mood has changed since last weekend, though I muddled through and completed the podcast. It has an interesting mix of music even by my standards, so go plug in and check it out.

I actually had some woman in Baltimore say she wasn't interest in meeting or talking further because I do a podcast. I wrote it off to, "she has no idea what a podcast is," and figured it was her loss. She wasn't that cute and apparently owns a computer with absolutely no punctuation keys on it, so I won't much miss talking to her.

And yes, I am still somewhat interested in meeting new people, though it's more just for having people to do things with. I sometimes find myself going out for a beer after work just for lack of anything else interesting to do, and it's a habit I want to get rid of these days. Now that the temperatures here have moderated (it was barely 72 out today, and it rained a little) I have less of a tendency to seek out dark, air-conditioned places.

One of my more dedicated readers has vanished... Melody appears to have faded into the haze. Oh, well. She'll be OK with this new guy she met, or she won't... not my job to worry about it any more. I will miss her, though.

I do need to figure out why I still have this second Segway. I bought it a year ago because it was a useful thing to have when Melody and I were together, but since Fawn is in Chicago and it's not terribly practical to carry two HTs on an aircraft, maybe it's time to box it up and put it up on eBay or something.

The little p133 would actually fit Fawn really well. I'm keeping the big old i167, though... it's historic. One of the oldest ones in the country. Anytime you own anything with a three-digit serial number, it's likely uncommon. I used to know a guy who has an old Allis-Chalmers model G tractor with a serial number of... 1.

The 40-gig iPod is going back to Apple again. Apparently, the process of fixing one thing caused something else to flake out, so it's going back and getting its click wheel repaired. They are absurdly helpful about support of the iPod, better than any other vendor I've ever seen. Compare and contrast Archos, who, when I needed a replacement power supply for an external Firewire hard drive, said they didn't have any and suggested I try Radio Shack or something. I ended up cutting the drive out of the dead unit and putting it in a new enclosure, making a mental note to never buy anything else from them.

Fawn and I talked earlier tonight, about her flaky DSL service and about her upcoming knee surgery. After she's recovered from it, I'll be going out there to see her. It's something I can look forward to in a month or so, and not worry about aloneness in the interim. She's there, she likes me, I like her, there's nothing to worry about.

Go listen to the new podcast or something.


previous - next