People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

The big reset button


June 06, 2005 - 7:25 a.m.

I am having to push the big reset button on my sleep cycle, which was thrown off last week by my staying up half the night working on the new podcast. There are now two podcasts out there, which you are welcome to peruse at http://www.theturtle.biz, and you can find us at Podcast.net by looking for Words And Music, or by going to Podcast Directory, or PodcastAlley.

Anyway, the last several nights I've found myself staying up practically the entire night, and so this morning, when it got to be 5:15 and I was still up, I figured, scruit, I'm just going to get up and go to work, and hope that that burns me out enough that I can go back to something like normal sleep again.

We'll see.

Sarah is in New York. I have a few days to myself, then she comes back and I have to see how things go. I am finding it odd how a small exchange between us on Friday night grated on me and still grates on me. She was very irate and baleful that she wasn't able to reach me on phones... I had stayed home on Friday and was asleep enough that I didn't hear the phone ring. What's more, apparently I also committed the sin of not answering the phone at my office, never mind that I wasn't there, nor my wireless, which doesn't work at the house and in any case was in the car with a dead battery.

She answered the door looking like I'd just kicked her cats or something. Since we had agreed that I'd come over Friday evening, and I had duly appeared, I couldn't immediately see what the problem was. She explained it, and then I really didn't see what the problem was. I mean, we're both adults in our forties, it seems like we don't have to call each other every single day lest the other person feel abandoned or feel that somehow they must have "done something."

I think what it is is, after Melody, I am rather oversensitive to behaviors in a adults that seem like behaviors in teenagers, and I am not any better at reacting to it.

My solution in Friday's case was to listen to Sarah's ranting for a few minutes, then say, "OK, I am going to go back out the door and then knock again, and I think maybe I'd like for us to try this all again, OK?"

And I did.

Another thing that already gets me about her: she is going to have to wear her glasses all the time. Sort of like your grandpa who is hard of hearing and (a) only catches half of what somebody says and then (b) overreacts to it, Sarah tends to see only part of something and then react to it in a completely out-of-kilter way, when if she'd worn her glasses and could properly see things at close range, she'd understand what the hell she was talking about.

And yes, I know that I see better than most people. And when my hearing was all there, I could hear better than many people. But still, if you don't know what you're about to bumble into, the least you could do is delay your blurting for a few seconds until you read the whole screen of information.

THEN bumble into it.

I am slowly getting most of my lost hearing back, by the way. Sleep seems to help.


previous - next