People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Calves have reappeared, and the PSP


April 18, 2005 - 4:26 p.m.

Every time I think about selling the old Volvo, Giselle (a 1969 P1800 sports coupe) all I have to do is drive it, and I manage to talk myself out of it.

I don't fit well in that car -- it was sized for short British guys, or women -- but I just adore it. I took Giselle over to the car wash and cleaned the bird poop off the roof. She was quite a bit happier. She was as powerful as ever.

Spring is rolling. What this means in most tangible and appreciable terms is that winter boots have gone away and I once again can get my minimum daily requirement of cute calves. This was a particularly long and difficult winter in that respect, but coming to work today did a lot toward balancing my deficiency back out. No sooner had I gotten in the door than a small group of young-ish women in straight skirts and heels came wandering down the hall on a parallel path. They must be new recruits or something, because anyone who's been here a while doesn't look like that -- great calves on all of them, and nice, tasteful attire. Not a speck of spandex or Britneyware anywhere. I was quite sure just on that basis that it'd be a pleasant day, and it has been.

In completely unrelated news, I think I understand now why Sony discontinued their Clie line of Palm-powered PDAs. The new PlayStation Portable is astonishing in its engineering, and considerably cheaper than the Clies ever were. $249, and the thing plays movies, MPEG-4 video, MP3s, shows photographs, has 802.11b networking and (oh, by the way) is a pretty capable game console.

Yeah, I bought one. This is a small reward for me, to make up for being sick and to reward myself for being fiscally responsible for months and months and paying off a bunch of bills. The thing is amazing. The engineering alone is worth the price. I am sitting here watching episodes of the first 1959/1960 season of Rocky & Bullwinkle. Yeah, I suppose there are things I could be doing, but I'm thinking right now and needed something amusing and mindless to use as a background for thinking.

Melody has a friend visiting all week. I'd like to see her, but she's likely busy almost all week. I'm pretty lackadaisical about searching on Match these days... it seems like I've already seen everybody who shows up in searches, and a truly amazing number of them are women I've either already met, didn't want to meet, or who didn't want to meet me. Scores and scores of them. I'm just sick of the whole thing and wish Melody would just be willing to work at making something nice work between us again. I'm patient, though. Not like much else is going on.


previous - next