People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

I need more than four cents and a Tootsie Roll


November 19, 2004 - 3:47 p.m.

Until this morning, all the days this week were the sort that made me want to open the roof on the Saab, turn up John Mayer's "3x5" really loud, and drive really fast somewhere other than work.

Today, I woke up, and the mountain wasn't there (the fog hides it), so I went back to sleep for a while. I'm now at work, thinking I should eat something more substantial for lunch than a Tootsie Roll.

And not even a full-sized one... a Midgee.

Tonight after work, I am supposed to meet Charlotte. She and I have both agreed we shouldn't let expectations get out of hand, but lately, it's been hard not to. She's very sweet, she's smart, and I like talking to her. Her friend, D, the one who put us in touch, told me "don't listen to Charlotte when she self-deprecates. She's gorgeous and always looks good. She's just one of those churchgoing people who thinks they look terrible unless they're in their church clothes. Just ignore her."

And here I am, feeling self-conscious about the cat-hair on my suit and the fact I should be eating something more substantial than a Tootsie Roll.

Hhhhhhhh...

In other news, I think my bill-paying obsession has got to slow down. I am now at the point where I never have any damn cash, because I pay everything off and then, because I'm out of cash, have to use credit cards to buy everything. I'll get caught up just fine, I just need to remember that having a little cash on hand can be rather useful. I feel pretty stupid buying a donut and a soda with a credit card because I have four cents in my pocket and it's 1:00am.


previous - next