People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

A followup to yesterday, and social news


November 09, 2004 - 1:10 p.m.

As a followup to yesterday's post, I've also considered redoing the lyrics to another popular jingo-anthem, and calling it "I'm Proud To Be Lee Greenwood" but am having trouble working the phrase "...the Kate Smith of the Nineties" into it.

Suggestions are welcome. All you budding Yankovics out there should write in.

Some people already have.

I am waiting for one of you to get fed up and tell me to go back to writing about fucking again. Honestly, I would, but really, there's been precious little going on in that area since the end with Melody. I've been out doing the rounds on Match again, and met some interesting women and some women I have gladly unhooked and thrown back into the pond.

Um... let's see here...

"K" was one of those timid, listens-to-the-voice-in-her-head women who jumps to decisions about "compatibility" way too damn fast. And her calves weren't quite as cute as she thought.

The other "K" was funny, pretty, intelligent, and apparently uninterested in a second date. She was also only 33, a violation of my own age-range guidelines. She was waiting for "the spark," which is horseshit. Increasingly, I think some women use "I didn't feel a spark" when they really should just fuckin' say "I'm not all that into you." Romance novels have ruined everything as usual.

"Z" I never even got to meet. Tall, with long, straight hair down to her ass, but wishy-washy and incapable of spelling. After a month of one-liner emails and questions she didn't bother asking or answering, and after an entire week of trying to persuade her to come the eight miles out of the city to the suburbs (where one can park), I said scruit and ended the conversation.

"A" was great the first date, a little boring the second date, and I probably won't be talking to her again. Damn fine legs on this one, though. And a strange sense of humor.

"D" was all over me in very public ways, the point where it was vaguely disgusting. She has earned for all other women the admonition, "do not lick my ear."

"P" was tall, thin, cute, and a technogeek like no woman I've ever met, but I may or may not get to see her again. As a bad omen, our first date ended short because she had to pick up her sixteen-year-old daughter.

"M" is taller, cuter, and blonde. Not all that much to talk to, because she has a sort of flat, lifeless voice with a local accent, but definitely has the attraction factor. Oh, and her house is at least as stack-oriented as mine.

There are couple more I have yet to actually meet in person, but that's what the rest of this week is for. Who the hell knows, I may end up back precisely where I was two or three weeks ago, or not. I gave up predicting this stuff.

Just don't lick my ear.


previous - next