People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Women: a public service announcement


October 03, 2004 - 8:49 p.m.

The last few days have involved a lot of high acceleration and deceleration. Melody and I have been through a rocket-powered change of circumstance that took more than a week to work out, and which is still going on.

Basically, we both got sick of each other at about the same time... she got sick of me being demanding and sometimes obnoxious, and I got sick of her seeming capricious and her tendency toward making demands and issuing ultimata, and we spent a week apart. I'm leaving out all the details, of course. Suffice to say that Things Were Said(tm) and things got very, very painful for a while.

Both of us realized that we missed each other, though, and have slowly gravitated back to each other after carefully talking about what we really needed to change about our relationship. Our reunification was not without a hitch, though... we went to dinner and Melody met me at the door in an outfit she knows I like (more about that in a moment): short purple velvet skirt, black nylons and ankle-strap pumps, with a shimmery silk blouse. She also had taken some time to do her hair up in a curly sort of way I liked immediately.

Now, about that phrase, "knows I like." As you might have guessed, for me, this carries an in-built connotation of "knows I like, and also knows I like to take her out of." Thus, it was something of a surprise when, after a nice dinner and some good talking, and a little choice PDA in the car on the way home, she announced, "you know I don't intend to just jump back into bed with you..."

Uhh... OK. As Garrison Keillor used to say, "if you didn't want to go to Minneapolis, why did you get on the bus?"

With that outfit, yes, she definitely got on the bus. In fact, she was driving. Ladies, please remember this public service announcement: yes, what you wear DOES convey something. If you wear a fuck-me outfit (particularly one that has been used with great effect for exactly that purpose in the recent past), do not be surprised when guys regard you as a world-class dick-tease and bitch when you suddenly park the bus, OK?

Anyway, Melody and I had some long conversations overnight (I did end up staying). And we did end up fooling around in the morning, which resulted in another episode of orgasm-induced tears on her part. Stay tuned, things are still very much in the adjustment and readjustment stage.

Both of us, in the intervening week, had put our profiles back up on Match.com. Neither of us has yet either taken them down or actually resubscribed.


previous - next