People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Things that count, and things that are counted


September 07, 2004 - 4:56 p.m.

A tip for you kids interested in getting high: do not inhale chlorine.

Melody and I were at my house this past weekend, cleaning and straightening things up as we prepared to go off to California this week, and I was cleaning the kitchen. For some reason, the bleach I was using reacted with the cat-whiff vapors much more strongly than I expected and I got to inhale a lot of free chlorine gas, which is rather caustic and can fuck you up. I have been a bit short of breath ever since, but I have to be careful not to cough because I am liable to not stop until I start coughing up blood or something.

I am 42 today. Last night, Melody and I went out and had a nice dinner, got all dressed up, and talked about a variety of things. I drove home, and she fell asleep as a result of us working all weekend and her consumption of about four sips of my apple martini. If you look in the dictionary under "lightweight," her picture will probably be there. Still, it was nice to get to ogle her as she slept. She has pretty good calves, after all, and was wearing a new wool dress that only came to her knees, or just above.

I can be pacified by small pleasures.

This month is going to be challenging... I just paid the mortgage and some bills, and basically am going to have to live on credit cards for a couple of weeks until the next payday later this month. At least I paid the balances down on the cards earlier this year. Still, having a little cash around is always kinda useful. I used to keep a spare hundred-dollar bill in the ashtray of the car for emergencies, but that got lost along with my wallet back in the spring. The wallet and most of the cards came back... the hundred dollar bill did not.

She fell asleep (we didn't fool around, though since my last posting about this topic, we have, and to great effect) and I stayed up trying to install Yellow Dog Linux on my iBook, watching the Red Sox win, and keeping an eye on Frances, which will likely show up at my house tonight and rinse all the cat litter dust off my porch. She should also water the citrus trees, though I watered them the other day myself. They are sprouting out again very well, just in time to have to be repotted and then go back inside for the winter.

Today, an email from my stepmother, a greeting from one of my friends in IM. Nothing major going on at work. Nothing major going on outside. Nobody on the road, nobody on the beach.

Tomorrow after work, Frances permitting, Melody and I fly out of BWI to Sacramento, to visit friends of hers, see California, visit otters, and do other things.

Things are superficially good, but I still have periodic spells of wondering how the hell I have been able to be with her for over five months now. I keep wondering about that. She still does things that bug the shit out of me, but all in all, she still has an ability to surprise me with the ways she is NOT like my ex-wife. Or anyone else.

And, she has cute calves. That counts, remember.


previous - next