People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Sick of Bush already?


July 06, 2004 - 12:42 p.m.

I am curious: do you live around Republicans? I do. Lots of them. I live in the "red" part of Maryland. Though putatively a "blue" state, everything in western Maryland is a Republican hangout.

What's interesting, though, is that I'm hearing from a lot of Republicans around me, and what I'm hearing is this:

I voted for Bush, but I'll never do THAT again.

This amazes me, and doesn't, at the same time. It amazes me in that Republicans tend to be of the "hell or high water" sort, where they stick with their President through anything. It doesn't amaze me, though, because I've begun to realize that Bush Is A Bad Republican.

Bad.

As in, "evil."

Counterproductive, corrosive, divisive, even among members of his own party. Bill Clinton was disappointing and enigmatic, but only rarely did his conduct make people think This Guy Is A Bad President. He might have been a bad person, but an OK president.

What I think about Bush is that in his own come-to-Jesus frat-boy kind of way, he's probably an OK guy personally, but when he gets behind the wheel of the most powerful office in the nation, something happens in his little head, and he doesn't seem to give a shit about anything or anybody except his small circle of friends and larger circle of sycophants and rich people.

That's a bad combination, and his execution of this approach may well dig a hole the Republicans will not recover from for years. Sorta like Richard Nixon, a man who was so convinced of his own power that he took his entire party and the confidence of a nation down in his failure. The Republicans lost control of Congress for twenty years after that stunt.

Bush runs the risk of doing the same. The lies, the inability to admit error, the massive costs, the dangerous international stunts, the fuck-you attitude toward our allies, and the general attitude of "we know better for you than you know for yourself" will fry the Republicans' asses for years to come. Perhaps the best thing the Republicans can do right now is... stay home on Election Day. Wait four years, then run a "real" Republican, one who doesn't want to crawl up my ass, one who won't lie to the public, one who wants to restore the United States to a position of relative benign-ness in the world, one who can admit their own mistakes and work to fix them.

Problem is, I have no idea where such a person exists.


previous - next