People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Free food and helicopters


June 29, 2004 - 4:36 p.m.

Well, finally a big corporation has done something useful for me: free food for bitching them out.

Burger King now has, at some stores, special receipts. Next time you're at one, turn your receipt over, and you may find that it's printed with a coupon for a free Whopper (if you also buy fries and a drink) if you call a toll-free number and fill out an anonymous Touch-Tone survey on the place you just ate at.

I had a good time with that one. There's a Burger Kong just north of where Melody lives that I get stuff at once in a while, and the place could use a lot of fixin'. The people on the drive-thru speaker are incomprehensible, can't give up reading their damn scripts long enough to actually listen accurately to my order, and even when they get the order, screw it up on a regular basis.

So, for me, the idea of getting a free Whopper in exchange for giving this place bad marks on most of their customer-service points was irresistable. I called in and did the survey, and at the end of it, the system reads a code to you. Write the code on the receipt, and it becomes a coupon good for a Whopper.

Sure enough, I got the code, looked around, and couldn't find a pen. I pulled up to the drive-thru, and nobody there seemed to have one, either.

Hhhhhh...

One was eventually obtained and I had a heavily-discounted lunch to enjoy.

I always thought "The Whopper" would be a great trade name for a company that makes helicopters.


previous - next