People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

We... are the mushrooms, my friend...


April 14, 2004 - 6:19 p.m.

Nothing is ever easy. Or simple. My longtime friend Donna was right: "things... happen... around you."

Things do.

I spent some time with a friend the other night, someone I don't get to see as often as I'd like, and while yes, there was a time we had a real attraction to each other, I had thought that time was long since past and we'd gone on to being plain old friends. Silly me. At one point in the evening, we inexplicably pounced on each other and had a good time getting each other all excited for a half hour or so... where in the world is that supposed to fit in my life now? I have no idea. Did it feel good? Of course. Was it fun? Certainly. Does it make sense to do now when I'm trying to focus on Melody? Ummmmm...

Fortunately, that friend and I talk pretty well, and I think we can figure out what it means or meant and go on from there. She did mention she'd "love to catch me between girlfriends sometime," though.

Today is a low-key day. Nothing major going on for once, and of course one of the cats had to celebrate by crapping in the upstairs hall. Tonight I am seeing Melody again, though not until later in the evening when she gets done having dinner with some longtime friends of hers. They have a complex hyphenated last name, and I told Melody she could get a Masters in mathematics by calculating how many times they've had to spell it to telephone operators over the years.

We actually WON trivia last night, finally. Outright win, no ties, no co-champions. Next time we'll probably suck, but for now, we are the champignons. In addition, I also won seventy-five bucks because I shared the low score in my Master's golf tournament pool. One other guy picked the same foursome I picked, so we split the win. My friend Gretchen was quite pleased and proud we won. It's been frustrating for her when we don't win trivia. Probably more than for me.


previous - next