People In Hell Want Icewater
a web.journal
newest shit
ancient shit
tell me shit
look at my farking
my podcast
my profile
about the title

get your own
read others
recommend me


Want to know when I post new stuff? Add your email here:

Apple loses one


February 09, 2004 - 2:03 p.m.

OK, I was giving Apple too much credit. After a year of owning my iMac and a month of owning my iBook, and being pleased with both beyond all reason, they do something asinine.

They announce some new software over a month ago, saying "it will be shipping on all new Macs." Sure enough, mine (which was out in the retail channel -- but not in my hands -- before January 6) doesn't have it installed. Does Apple do something simple, like, "type your serial number in here, and we'll let you download the updated iLife 4.0 software?" No. Instead they hide a PDF behind a very-hard-to-find page at apple.com, requiring you to print the page out and mail it in with twenty bucks.

In other words, you have a wonderful computer, a terrific network connection, so fuck you, let's use this flat piece of old torn-up trees, and waste a couple of weeks of your time to make sure your purchase "qualifies," and then we'll send you a DVD on which the software will be stored.

Dumbasses.

Maybe it's just that I've gotten back to where I expect more of Apple. I should probably just go over to CompUSA and bitch at them, and see if they'll burn me a copy of the DVD. Hell of a lot easier than waiting for yet another flat old tree-derived thing to show up in the mailbox.


previous - next